Coverart for item
The Resource The storm : a novel, Arif Anwar

The storm : a novel, Arif Anwar

Label
The storm : a novel
Title
The storm
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Arif Anwar
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history. Shahryar, a recent PhD graduate and father of nine-year-old Anna, must leave the US when his visa expires. In their last remaining weeks together, we learn Shahryar's history, in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman and his wife are preparing to face a storm of historic proportions. That story intersects with those of a Japanese pilot, a British doctor stationed in Burma during World War II, and a privileged couple in Calcutta who leaves everything behind to move to East Pakistan following the Partition of India. Inspired by the 1970 Bhola cyclone, in which half a million-people perished overnight, the structure of this riveting novel mimics the storm itself. Building to a series of revelatory and moving climaxes, it shows the many ways in which families love, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another. At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer.--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Anwar, Arif
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.A588
LC item number
S86 2018
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • Bangladesh
  • Immigrants
Label
The storm : a novel, Arif Anwar
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
sky292626900
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
306 pages
Isbn
9781501174513
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2018016384
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Note
ab 05/18
Label
The storm : a novel, Arif Anwar
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
sky292626900
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
306 pages
Isbn
9781501174513
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2018016384
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Note
ab 05/18

Library Locations

    • KDL Byron Twp. BranchBorrow it
      8191 Byron Center Ave. SW, Byron Center, MI, 49315, US
      42.8164386 -85.7240006
    • KDL Cascade Twp. BranchBorrow it
      2870 Jacksmith Ave. SE, Grand Rapids, MI, 49546, US
      42.9117597 -85.5043438
    • KDL Gaines Twp. BranchBorrow it
      421 68th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI, 49548, US
      42.8411386 -85.65376359999999
Processing Feedback ...