Coverart for item
The Resource The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend, Glenn Stout

The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend, Glenn Stout

Label
The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend
Title
The selling of the Babe
Title remainder
the deal that changed baseball and created a legend
Statement of responsibility
Glenn Stout
Title variation
Deal that changed baseball and created a legend
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunes of two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known. More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including: -Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert -Previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale - Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder The Selling of Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire. Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man, The Babe"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1958-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stout, Glenn
Dewey number
  • 796.357092
  • B
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
index present
LC call number
GV865.R8
LC item number
S764 2016
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Ruth, Babe
  • Baseball players
  • Boston Red Sox (Baseball team)
  • New York Yankees (Baseball team)
Label
The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend, Glenn Stout
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
September 11, 1918 -- George Herman Ruth -- This means war -- 1918 -- Hijinks and heroes -- Out of left field -- Rebellion and revolution -- The Insurrectors -- For sale -- Welcome to New York -- The "Infant Swatigy" -- A new day -- Making the sale -- The Babe -- Closing the sale -- Appendix. Babe Ruth home run log : 1915 through 1920
Control code
sky279674789
Dimensions
25 cm.
Extent
294 pages [8] pages of plates
Isbn
9781250064318
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2015043222
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Note
ab 03/16
Other physical details
illustrations
Label
The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend, Glenn Stout
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
September 11, 1918 -- George Herman Ruth -- This means war -- 1918 -- Hijinks and heroes -- Out of left field -- Rebellion and revolution -- The Insurrectors -- For sale -- Welcome to New York -- The "Infant Swatigy" -- A new day -- Making the sale -- The Babe -- Closing the sale -- Appendix. Babe Ruth home run log : 1915 through 1920
Control code
sky279674789
Dimensions
25 cm.
Extent
294 pages [8] pages of plates
Isbn
9781250064318
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2015043222
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Note
ab 03/16
Other physical details
illustrations

Library Locations

    • KDL Caledonia Twp. BranchBorrow it
      6260 92nd St. SE, Caledonia, MI, 49316, US
      42.7972909 -85.5064716
    • KDL East Grand Rapids BranchBorrow it
      746 Lakeside Dr. SE, East Grand Rapids, MI, 49506, US
      42.9494868 -85.6117855
Processing Feedback ...