Coverart for item
The Resource How to read novels like a professor, Thomas C. Foster

How to read novels like a professor, Thomas C. Foster

Label
How to read novels like a professor
Title
How to read novels like a professor
Statement of responsibility
Thomas C. Foster
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Foster, Thomas C
Dewey number
809.3
Index
no index present
LC call number
  • PN3365
  • PN3365
LC item number
  • .F67 2008
  • .F67 2008
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Books and reading
Label
How to read novels like a professor, Thomas C. Foster
Instantiates
Publication
Contents
Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or, Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea, or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory
Control code
ocn190860169
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
xviii, 312 p.
Isbn
9780061340406
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Lccn
2008001729
System control number
(OCoLC)190860169
Label
How to read novels like a professor, Thomas C. Foster
Publication
Contents
Novel possibilities, or all animals aren't pigs? -- Pickup lines and open(ing) seductions or, why novels have first pages -- You can't breathe where the air is clear -- Who's in charge here? -- Never trust a narrator with a speaking part -- A still, small voice (or a great, galumphing one) -- Men (and women) made out of words, or, My pip ain't like your pip -- When very bad people happen to good novels -- Wrinkles in time, or, Chapters just might matter -- Everywhere is just one place -- Clarissa's flowers -- Met-him-pike-hoses -- Life sentences -- Drowning in the stream of consciousness -- The light on Daisy's dock -- Fiction about fiction -- Source codes and recycle bins -- Improbabilities : foundlings and magi, colonels and boy wizards -- What's the big idea, or even the small one? -- Who broke my novel? -- Untidy endings -- History in the novel/the novel in history -- Conspiracy theory
Control code
ocn190860169
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
xviii, 312 p.
Isbn
9780061340406
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Lccn
2008001729
System control number
(OCoLC)190860169

Library Locations

    • KDL Kentwood (Richard L. Root) BranchBorrow it
      4950 Breton SE, Kentwood, MI, 49508, US
      42.8734607 -85.5964298
    • KDL Plainfield Twp. BranchBorrow it
      2650 5 Mile Rd. NE, Grand Rapids, MI, 49525, US
      43.0422594 -85.6034463
Processing Feedback ...