Coverart for item
The Resource Astoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival, Peter Stark

Astoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival, Peter Stark

Label
Astoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival
Title
Astoria
Title remainder
John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival
Statement of responsibility
Peter Stark
Title variation
John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing. Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition. Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast{u2014}one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn{u2014}nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail
Biography type
contains biographical information
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1954-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stark, Peter
Dewey number
917.9504
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
  • E
  • E
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Astor, John Jacob
  • Jefferson, Thomas
  • Tonquin (Ship)
  • Pacific Fur Company
  • Overland journeys to the Pacific
  • Voyages to the Pacific coast
  • Fur trade
  • Astoria (Or.)
  • Northwest, Pacific
Label
Astoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival, Peter Stark
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Contents
The launch -- The journey -- Pacific Empire and war -- Fate of the Astorians
Control code
sky258711660
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xv, 366 pages [16] pages of plates
Isbn
9780062218292
Lccn
2014004837
Other physical details
illustrations (some color) map
Label
Astoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival, Peter Stark
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Contents
The launch -- The journey -- Pacific Empire and war -- Fate of the Astorians
Control code
sky258711660
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xv, 366 pages [16] pages of plates
Isbn
9780062218292
Lccn
2014004837
Other physical details
illustrations (some color) map

Library Locations

    • KDL East Grand Rapids BranchBorrow it
      746 Lakeside Dr. SE, East Grand Rapids, MI, 49506, US
      42.9494868 -85.6117855
Processing Feedback ...