The Resource All that Remains : A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes, Sue Black, (electronic resource)

All that Remains : A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes, Sue Black, (electronic resource)

Label
All that Remains : A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes
Title
All that Remains
Title remainder
A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes
Statement of responsibility
Sue Black
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Book of the Year, 2018 Saltire Literary Awards A CrimeReads Best True Crime Book of the Month For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality. Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist. She has lived her life eye to eye with the Grim Reaper, and she writes vividly about it in this book, which is part primer on the basics of identifying human remains, part frank memoir of a woman whose first paying job as a schoolgirl was to apprentice in a butcher shop, and part no-nonsense but deeply humane introduction to the reality of death in our lives. It is a treat for CSI junkies, murder mystery and thriller readers, and anyone seeking a clear-eyed guide to a subject that touches us all. Cutting through hype, romanticism, and clich,̌ she recounts her first dissection; her own first acquaintance with a loved one's death; the mortal remains in her lab and at burial sites as well as scenes of violence, murder, and criminal dismemberment; and about investigating mass fatalities due to war, accident, or natural disaster, such as the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She uses key cases to reveal how forensic science has developed and what her work has taught her about human nature. Acclaimed by bestselling crime writers and fellow scientists alike, All That Remains is neither sad nor macabre. While Professor Black tells of tragedy, she also infuses her stories with a wicked sense of humor and much common sense
Cataloging source
Midwest
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Black, Sue
Dewey number
363.2/5/092
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
hoopla digital
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Black, Sue M
  • Forensic scientists
  • Death
  • Forensic sciences
  • Electronic books
Target audience
adult
Label
All that Remains : A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes, Sue Black, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Distribution
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
MWT12375234
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
  • online
  • electronic
Governing access note
Digital content provided by hoopla
Isbn
9781948924290
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Publisher number
MWT12375234
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
12375234
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web
Label
All that Remains : A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes, Sue Black, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Distribution
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
MWT12375234
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
  • online
  • electronic
Governing access note
Digital content provided by hoopla
Isbn
9781948924290
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Publisher number
MWT12375234
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
12375234
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web

Library Locations

  • KDL Alpine Twp. BranchBorrow it
    5255 Alpine Ave. NW, Comstock Park, MI, 49321, US
    43.0588446 -85.6909448
  • KDL Alto BranchBorrow it
    6071 Linfield Ave., Alto, MI, 49302, US
    42.8552688 -85.3829372
  • KDL Byron Twp. BranchBorrow it
    8191 Byron Center Ave. SW, Byron Center, MI, 49315, US
    42.8164386 -85.7240006
  • KDL Caledonia Twp. BranchBorrow it
    6260 92nd St. SE, Caledonia, MI, 49316, US
    42.7972909 -85.5064716
  • KDL Cascade Twp. BranchBorrow it
    2870 Jacksmith Ave. SE, Grand Rapids, MI, 49546, US
    42.9117597 -85.5043438
  • KDL Comstock Park BranchBorrow it
    3943 W. River Dr. NE, Comstock Park, MI, 49321, US
    43.0338316 -85.6663571
  • KDL East Grand Rapids BranchBorrow it
    746 Lakeside Dr. SE, East Grand Rapids, MI, 49506, US
    42.9494868 -85.6117855
  • KDL Englehardt (Lowell) BranchBorrow it
    200 N. Monroe St., Lowell, MI, 49331, US
    42.9357937 -85.33803309999999
  • KDL Gaines Twp. BranchBorrow it
    421 68th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI, 49548, US
    42.8411386 -85.65376359999999
  • KDL Grandville BranchBorrow it
    4055 Maple St. SW, Grandville, MI, 49418, US
    42.9077791 -85.7646944
  • KDL Kentwood (Richard L. Root) BranchBorrow it
    4950 Breton SE, Kentwood, MI, 49508, US
    42.8734607 -85.5964298
  • KDL Krause Memorial (Rockford) BranchBorrow it
    140 E. Bridge St., Rockford, MI, 49341, US
    43.1195501 -85.5578189
  • KDL Nelson Twp. / Sand Lake BranchBorrow it
    88 Eighth St., Sand Lake, MI, 49343, US
    43.29286099999999 -85.521951
  • KDL Plainfield Twp. BranchBorrow it
    2650 5 Mile Rd. NE, Grand Rapids, MI, 49525, US
    43.0422594 -85.6034463
  • KDL Spencer Twp. BranchBorrow it
    14960 Meddler Ave., Gowen, MI, 49326, US
    43.23882090000001 -85.36922059999999
  • KDL Tyrone Twp. BranchBorrow it
    43 S. Main St., Kent City, MI, 49330, US
    43.218661 -85.75156299999999
  • KDL Walker BranchBorrow it
    4293 Remembrance Rd. NW, Walker, MI, 49534, US
    43.006789 -85.77478070000001
  • KDL Wyoming BranchBorrow it
    3350 Michael Ave. SW, Wyoming, MI, 49509, US
    42.9035071 -85.6940628
Processing Feedback ...