Coverart for item
The Resource Alabama Spitfire : the story of Harper Lee and To kill a mockingbird, Bethany Hegedus

Alabama Spitfire : the story of Harper Lee and To kill a mockingbird, Bethany Hegedus

Label
Alabama Spitfire : the story of Harper Lee and To kill a mockingbird
Title
Alabama Spitfire
Title remainder
the story of Harper Lee and To kill a mockingbird
Statement of responsibility
Bethany Hegedus
Title variation
  • The story of Harper Lee & To Kill a Mockingbird
  • Story of Harper Lee and To Kill a Mockingbird
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The inspiring true story of Harper Lee, the girl who grew up to write To Kill a Mockingbird, from Bethany Hegedus and Erin McGuire. Perfect for fans of The Right Word and I Dissent. Nelle Harper Lee grew up in the rocky red soil of Monroeville, Alabama. From the get-go she was a spitfire. Unlike most girls at that time and place, Nelle preferred overalls to dresses and climbing trees to tea parties. Nelle loved to watch her daddy try cases in the courtroom. And she and her best friend, Tru, devoured books and wrote stories of their own. More than anything Nelle loved words. This love eventually took her all the way to New York City, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Any chance she had, Nelle sat at her typewriter, writing, revising, and chasing her dream. Nelle wouldn’t give up—not until she discovered the right story, the one she was born to tell. Finally, that story came to her, and Nelle, inspired by her childhood, penned To Kill a Mockingbird. A groundbreaking book about small-town injustice that has sold over forty million copies, Nelle’s novel resonated with readers the world over, who, through reading, learned what it was like to climb into someone else’s skin and walk around in it
Cataloging source
StDuBDS
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hegedus, Bethany
Dewey number
813.54
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Intended audience
880 L
Intended audience source
Lexile
LC call number
CT
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Lee, Harper
  • Lee, Harper
  • Authors, American
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Alabama Spitfire : the story of Harper Lee and To kill a mockingbird, Bethany Hegedus
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
sky291363403
Dimensions
27 cm.
Extent
1 volume (unpaged)
Isbn
9780062456700
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Note
je 01/18
Other physical details
color illustrations
Label
Alabama Spitfire : the story of Harper Lee and To kill a mockingbird, Bethany Hegedus
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
sky291363403
Dimensions
27 cm.
Extent
1 volume (unpaged)
Isbn
9780062456700
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Note
je 01/18
Other physical details
color illustrations

Library Locations

    • KDL Comstock Park BranchBorrow it
      3943 W. River Dr. NE, Comstock Park, MI, 49321, US
      43.0338316 -85.6663571
    • KDL Grandville BranchBorrow it
      4055 Maple St. SW, Grandville, MI, 49418, US
      42.9077791 -85.7646944
    • KDL Wyoming BranchBorrow it
      3350 Michael Ave. SW, Wyoming, MI, 49509, US
      42.9035071 -85.6940628
Processing Feedback ...